I just started to write a new blog post but it’s too hot so I stopped

FishingFlamingo (1 of 1)

So, instead of posting what I was thinking about, here are some thoughts on my life at the moment:

A friend just came to visit me. We never really hung out too much back in NJ but we worked together for a long time and he turned to the same kind of life I did so we shared that in common. Had a great time when we were here and I wish we had time for more, and the means of getting to other interesting places. Thanks Tucker!

Tucker (1 of 1)-2

Hi Mom, thanks for visiting me too. You’re wonderful and I’m proud of you for braving a 14 hour trip to Nicaragua and back without any kind of guaranteed transportation. We made it and you got to experience Granada. Enjoy your new chocolate tea and the pictures of the boat cruise we went on that I’ll be sending you. I’m also proud of you for hopping into an unlicensed taxi on the side of a dirt road with me so we could save $30. You’re going to be a pro-traveler in no time like your son. Love you!

NicaMom (1 of 1)

I love teaching English. The further I get into it, the more I want my students to build their knowledge and succeed. I see their progress every day and I’m happy for them. I thoroughly enjoy tailoring my own speech to fit their level. It’s challenging, but I like to think I’m pretty good at it. I hope it takes me around the world.

Spanish is killing me now. I can do basic conversation but I’m tired of it. I love the language and I usually prefer speaking it rather than English, but right now, my brain is Spanish-fried.  It’s amazing how hard your brain has to work when you’re in an immersion environment (or when you have to switch back and forth between the two languages!!).

I have a big plan to travel during the “Holy Week” here called Santa Semana. I need a gigantic adventure. A lot of my co-workers want to plan something together but I’m a solo traveler and I need to get away for a while so I can write a new story. It’s hard to travel around Costa Rica, but I have a bus route planned to three different locations around the country and back again. I’ll write that post when that happens.

Conchal (1 of 1)

I’m looking to go to Spain after Costa Rica but I’m still planning that one out. I’m doing research every single day to make it painless for me. I don’t have enough money to support myself over there but I have to work and that’s hard to do, legally. Lots of ideas brewing. I’m really dead-set on that idea but I can always change where I’m going for more opportunity. Spain might have to wait but I really hope not. It’s beautiful.

I went to the beach this past weekend with a really good friend, Flor. She knows I don’t know how to swim and she was making fun of me, but she was helping me try, too. It made me want to really learn. I’m going to start going to a local beach more and jump in to teach myself. I’m determined.

FlorPro (1 of 1)

Lastly, it’s so damn hot! It’s been over 95 degrees for a few days straight here and I’m getting really lazy. I don’t take as many pictures as I want to anymore, because I’m content spending most of the day in front of a fan. I don’t like that. I need to work and travel!

More to come.

John DeSarno


Leave a Reply

