The Wind is Blowing Strong but I’m Not Ready to Leave Yet

liberia-1-of-1

Several months ago I met a nomad who I spent a lot of time with. She was only in Liberia for a month but we connected immediately. We shared a lot of things together and right now, I’m remembering a song I had her listen to: J.J. Cale’s “Call Me the Breeze” (or the raunchy Lynyrd Skynyrd cover, if you prefer it). It’s good ol’ classic rock, and even though she didn’t actually like the song, she loved the lyrics.

There’s a correlation between nomads and “the breeze”. We believe we are “the breeze” because just like the wind, we move from location to location. And while she took that phrase to heart and ended up leaving, I still had some responsibilities to fulfill in Costa Rica. That’s why I’m still here!

Well now, the wind is blowing strong. This is the windiest day I can remember for some time. But does that mean I should move and get going? I’m not THAT superstitious. It just means summer is here and going strong.

Summer in Costa Rica! It’s high season! What a glorious time to visit any one of the numerous beautiful beaches here. Everything is more expensive now and I’ve seen more tourists in the past week than I have in my whole time here. Unfortunately I haven’t been traveling much around here, but I have big plans to do so in the coming weeks. More on that later. First of all, I’ve been busy trying to market and sell photography. It’s not easy but I’m learning how to take care of myself on my own in a foreign land. There are so many ways to do it and I want to be a master.

My first shot at marketing my photography was during “las fiestas” in Santa Cruz, and those are all about having fun and watching a bullfight. I’ll have a separate blog post about that in the near future, but some locals who saw my pictures told me that I really captured the culture and spirit of the events. That makes me so happy and makes me realize that I can totally provide a service to people in this country.

rodeo-1-of-1-2

What are my other plans?

A friend from the USA is coming here very soon, he has other friends here but we’re going to meet up at some point. Looking forward to it, Tucker!

My mother is paying me another visit in the near future, too. I’m looking forward to that too, obviously, because I never get to see her anymore. We’re going to catch up on all the crazy things that have been happening lately.

I’ve been following politics out here. You know, traditionally, when someone moves out of country, it’s nice to disconnect for a while and immerse yourself in another culture. That hasn’t been my case recently because of all the horrible things Mr. Donald Trump has been doing within his first week in office, but that’s always up for debate. Regardless, I’ve been hearing news all the way out here. As a fellow teacher put it, “I was walking down the street and all I heard was “Spanish Spanish Spanish “Donald Trump” Spanish Spanish Spanish.” It’s far-reaching and shows you that globalization is important and here to stay. The sad thing is that some people in America will never understand the impact that they have on the rest of the world.

So, there are still hundreds of destinations worth exploring here and I’m staying busy to raise enough money to make that possible. And then what? Well, I’m going to move to a new country. I’m looking at a few right now. By then I’ll have enough experience working to be able to make it on my own and even save up. The end goal is every country in the world, don’t forget that because I sure haven’t.

cr-7-of-51

And the wind will keep blowing, but then it’ll be carrying me with it.


Leave a Reply

