A Journey to Nicaragua on a School Bus

Note: I’m publishing this a bit late. I wrote most of it on November 20th.


As I’m writing this, I’m laying in a hammock, once again in Nicaragua. This time I’m in a new location, San Juan Del Sur. It’s a beautiful and photogenic beach town geared towards partygoers. Now I’ve had more than a few drinks today but definitely nothing crazy.


Here’s a picture of my sexy legs in case you wanted it, and I know you all did.

In San Juan Del Sur there’s a party called “Sunday Funday”. Apparently it’s a bar crawl, and the biggest party in Central America! You pay $30 for admission and a t-shirt, but it’s not something I’m interested in.

No, I’m interested in adventure. New places. Photography. Today included all three.

I left with a friend I work with at 8:45 this morning. In the past when I’ve come to Nicaragua, I came the easy way, by a convenient bus which took me all the way. Today we roughed it. All public buses!

Look familiar? I felt like I was 8 years old again. This was nearly the same public bus I used to take to school when I was in grade-school. Buses are recycled from the USA and distributed through Central America where they’re decorated in a colorful Latin-American style. Guatemala is most known for this.


Here I am treated to a blind man singing for money. I donated. He was actually very good.

The currency in Nicaragua is called a “Cordoba”, the same name of a town in Spain. After all, the Spanish did colonize Nicaragua. The public buses here cost roughly 30 cordobas, or $1.

Ticos (Costa Ricans) know that Nicaragua is cheap. It’s an ideal vacation destination because of its affordability. Hell, I got a package of Oreos for $2! It was 65 cordobas! Beers here are 30 cordobas! Big beers, too! No complaints.

Anyway, I went to Nicaragua with some teachers. There were four of us, traveling differently in groups of two. It was me and a teacher named Danon, and then two teachers Phil and Jamie traveling together. Danon and I were roughing it by taking multiple public buses. Jamie and Phil were traveling in style, a more convenient way, the TicaBus.

We continuously met by chance over the course of the day at different stops which was really fun, but eventually convened in San Juan Del Sur. After checking into our hostel, we set out for a relaxing night on the beach and a night of drinking in various bars across town.

The beach was wonderfully relaxing. It started with oreos and the sunset, and ended with tequila shots, dancing, and a long walk across the sand in pitch blackness.


We had a good time. The next day, we found a bookstore, an independently owned store selling used books, but interesting books. I almost bought a book about a mans journey through Egypt at the start of last century! Right up my alley. A cup of coffee hit the spot, too.

On the way back, we took another public bus, but then a cab to the border town. All in all it was a fun vacation.

Now, it is November 27. I am once again in San Juan del Dur. I have a few more blog posts coming, all a bit late, so stay tuned!

4 thoughts on “A Journey to Nicaragua on a School Bus

    1. Hi!!! You can find jobs in Costa Rica that pay close to $1,000 a month. It’s not a lot but it’s enough to break even here. Most jobs are centered around San Jose. I got lucky and found a private school in Liberia, but it took me some time. Cheers! If you have any other questions please ask!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. After I asked I found your school. I have a Masters in TESOL and once taught English in San Jose. The pay was so low that it actually cost me to work when you factored in transportation. Liberia sounds much better but still not anything doable for someone with a family to support. I guess the only real option in CR for a professional wage is to start your own school.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

