I haven’t had time to blog! What have I been up to?

BlueRiver (1 of 1).jpg

I’m busy! Travel is in my bones, and it’s something I’ve dedicated myself to, and it’s something I’m going to be doing for the rest of my life. Exploring, learning, discovering, teaching, telling, and appreciating. The point of this post is to keep my eye on the goal, getting to every country in the world.

That means it’s important to reflect. Any good teacher will tell you that.

So what have I done so far? What’s new about me?

I’ve become an English teacher.

  • My three month anniversary of becoming an English teacher just passed. I’ve gotten comfortable with the grind of planning lessons and executing them. I’m close with all of my classes and my students are making progress. I like to think my classes are fun, and I’ve gotten good feedback from my students. Almost all of them passed my first batch of courses and now I’m getting some new courses. Progress is important!

I’ve learned to speak Spanish better.

  • I didn’t have much exposure to Spanish before coming to Costa Rica. I taught myself a lot before I went to Spain a while back but now it’s flourishing. I practice every day with some locals and I’m learning more every day. People tell me I can speak very well but I doubt it because I know I need to learn more! There’s always more to learn.

I’ve taken my favorite hobby to the next level.

  • As a photographer I’m always trying to get better. I’m also always looking to collect pictures. Sometimes I pretend they’re like Pokemon. Gotta watch out for the next one and catch it when you can! Don’t let it get away! Seize the moment! But don’t look in tall grass…that’s not photogenic. “I’ll name this one Pikachu because I photographed lightning!” Okay, maybe not that far.

 

TamarindoView (1 of 1).jpg

I’ve made new friends.

  • One of the most important aspects of traveling is relationships with people. I’ve added a bunch of friends in an entire new country that I talk to regularly. Sometimes I don’t have time to get to all of them and I feel bad! Teachers, students, locals, travelers, vacationers, professionals, drunks, creeps, tour guides, business owners, cab drivers, and more. The world is full of people. Explore what they have to offer. You might even fall in love with one of them. I think I did that too!

I got my own apartment.

  • Okay, it’s not the nicest. But I love independence. I’ve never had it and now I finally know what it’s like. I found that I’m responsible enough to pay my own rent on time and feed myself. I should have done this a while ago but things don’t always work out so well. I’m doing it now! And I’m doing it without many possessions. That brings me to my next point…

I’ve realized I don’t need much to be happy.

  • I think everyone should focus less on things and more on experiences. Find what you love and do it. It’s easier said than done for some people but it’s so unbelievably important. Learn about yourself and find what makes you happy. You don’t need a lot of stuff, or money. That’s not happiness. Look deeper.

I’ve hitchhiked.

  • I told this story in my last blog post. I didn’t finish it because it was a lot of writing and a lot of work for me. I’ll finish it now. After we left Rincon, we hitchhiked our way to a hotel, got to use the pool for free, and took an employee bus back to our city. It was one of the coolest experiences of my life. I was thinking about this today and how I want to do it again. You think it’s dangerous? Anything is dangerous. Your walk home from the bus stop could be dangerous. The point is you should take a risk to live a little. It’ll do you some good and you’ll feel great.

I saw a lot of Costa Rica.

  • It’s a beautiful country. Natural wonders everywhere, exotic animals, breathtaking views, and wonderful people.

 

Life is an adventure. Don’t waste it.

 

TamarindoSunset (1 of 1).jpg

Thanks for reading.

John DeSarno


Leave a Reply

