Are You Stuck in Life? Get Unstuck, Then Go Travel

white-boat-on-the-beach

Get unstuck. Untie yourself. Limit your commitments. Be free. Enjoy your life. Travel.

Travel is the best education.

That’s what I’ve heard my whole life and that’s what I live by. It’s an easy concept to understand, go out and see the world and you’ll learn a lot about what’s around you.

The unfortunate reality is that some people are unable to travel.

…Or so they think.

Let’s debunk a myth first. There is a common perception that you need to be comfortable while traveling, as comfortable as possible! Five star hotels, pools, luxurious dinners, a spa, beautiful destinations, you know the idea. I have some news for you, that’s not the travel I’m talking about. That idea is a vacation. Travel does not always have to be a vacation. In fact, it should be work! Hard work! Budgeting, using your body to get around, planning, using and developing life skills, that’s the travel I’m talking about. The rewards are immense!

It’s not for everyone, that’s true. There are some people who just want to relax, who need to relax, and I totally understand the appeal! But if you want to learn as much as you can and experience the world, and challenge yourself, travel is the way to go. Not a vacation.

Some people are just stuck in life. Marriage, family, mortgage, health, kids, finance, work, debt, something else or any combination of these, there is always something that holds people back from leaving.

I’m here to tell you that you need to abandon that and go!!!

Easier said than done, I know. You need to hear me out. Everyone is always telling me that they wish they could travel. I tell them they can, but then they tell me that they can’t, and they give me one of those excuses. They’re stuck!

The word you need to hear is EFFORT. Don’t be lazy! Don’t go looking for that vacation! Look for travel instead! Find ways to save money, use travel credit cards and bonus miles, stay in cheap hotels, go with others to save money, eat cheap so you can get further, keep an open mind, and be creative. Just because you’re not staying in a five star hotel doesn’t mean you can’t have a good time. You’ll have that great time in the national park, or historic city, or on the exotic beach. Try new things and experience all that life has to offer. As far as I know, you only get one.

Get unstuck. Untie yourself. Limit your commitments. Be free. Enjoy your life. Travel.

John DeSarno


Leave a Reply

