I’m Moving to Costa Rica

red_eyed_tree_frog

That’s right, I’m moving to Costa Rica.

People who know me best would describe me as an extremist. When I see someone who I haven’t talked to in a while they say “I thought you were out traveling the world! What are you doing here?” Sure, I’ve gone on adventures and road trips, I’ve traveled to other states and countries, and I’ve posted about it. I’ve shared pictures of other worlds, cultures, experiences, but I’ve not traveled the world. I’ve never made the effort to go that far. Not until now.

Why am I going? This is the start of something that will hopefully let me get to every country in the world. That’s my goal, it always has been. For now, I can’t think that big, all I can do is work as an English teacher, get paid, and get experience. I’m putting all of my effort into this because as far as I know, I only get one life. I don’t want to waste it. I want to live it. I want to do something amazing. No regrets.

I’ve never been to Costa Rica. People say it’s beautiful. I’ll find out if that’s true in late July. It’s the rainy season right now, which means thunderstorms every day. That’s going to last for months. Tourists usually don’t head there this time of the year, so things are cheaper and I can feel more like a local. I’m flying out to Liberia, a city in the west of the country. Essentially, it’s the rainforest; a place with more green than I can imagine. Don’t forget about all that wildlife, too.

I do not have a job out there and I don’t have a place to go. All I have is a flight, a hotel for the first night, travel insurance to last me a few weeks, a little bit of money, and a dream. I’ve always craved adventure, this is it. You may say I’m crazy, and you’re probably right. In my opinion, it’s better to be crazy than to sit around wondering where my life is going.

Final note:

Where is Costa Rica? It’s a country in Central America that seems like a third world country to some, but is actually quite developed. It’s covered by rainforests, features active volcanoes, and is one of the most diverse ecosystems in the entire world. It’s a hot tourist spot too. That means you’re welcome to come visit me, I’d love to explore with you. Shoot me a message, let’s go zip-lining over a volcano crater! (I’m pretty sure that’s not allowed)

Be well,

John DeSarno

Leave a Reply

